Treasure State Award

Treasure State Award
(nominations and winners by year listed below)

Carole Monlux, Missoula County Schools Librarian, and Bette Ammon, Missoula Public Library (now Director of the Coeur D'Alene Public Library), established Montana's picture book award, The Treasure State Award, in 1990. They wanted an award program for younger children because for over 50 years, students in grades fourth through eighth have been participating in the Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Reader's Choice Award. Their purpose was and continues to be to foster reading for pleasure, encourage critical reading skills, and expose readers and listeners to a variety of authors and illustrators.

The criteria for selection are relatively simple. Anyone can nominate titles for the ballot of five picture books. These nominated titles need to have been published within the last five years and are chosen for their powerful appeal to readers and listeners. Some nominations are submitted along with voting tallies. Students in grades K-3 vote during the first two weeks in March, and they must read or listen to all five titles on the ballot. The book receiving the most votes is the winner.

Over 9,500 children have cast ballots over the years. Originally intended just for the Missoula area, the program rapidly gained participants throughout the state.

To participate, mail the TOTAL number of votes cast by April 1, 2006 to:

Carole Monlux
Paxon Elementary School
101 Evans
Missoula, MT 59801

Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope if you wish to receive the results and a new list.


1. Funke, Cornelia. The Princess Knight.

2. Icenoggle,Jodi. 'Til the Cows Come Home.

3. Kaza, Keiko. My Lucky Day.

4. Orloff, Karen Kaufman. I Wanna Iguana.

5. Rodanas, Kristina. The Blind Hunter.


1. Eubank, Patty Reader. Seaman's Journal.*

2. Haseley, Dennis. A Story for Bear.

3. Ketteman, Helen. Armadillo Tattletale.

4. Melling, David. The Kiss That Missed.

5. Nolen, Jerdine. Thunder Rose.


1. Calmenson, Stephanie. The Frog Principal.

2. Harris, Jim. The Three Little Dinosaurs.*

3. MacDonald, Allan. The Pig in a Wig.

4. Tchana, Katrin. Sense Pass King: A Story from Camaroon.

5. White, Linda Arms. Comes A Wind.


1. Garland, Michael. Icarus Swinebuckle.

2. O'Neill, Alexis. The Recess Queen.

3. Reiss, Mike. The Great Show-and-tell Disaster.

4. Willey, Margaret. Clever Beatrice.

5. Wilson, Gina. Ignis.*


1. Cronin, Doreen. Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type.

2. Lester, Helen. Tacky and the Emperor.

3. Kimmel, Eric A. Robin Hook, Pirate Hunter!

4. Munson, Derek. Enemy Pie.*

5. San Souci, Robert D. Callie Ann and Mistah Bear.


1. Blake, Robert J. Akiak : A Tale From The Iditarod.*

2. Eversole, Robyn Harbert. Red Berry Wool.

3. Lasky, Kathryn. The Emperor's Old Clothes.

4. Nolen, Jerdine. Raising Dragons.

5. Wood, Audrey. The Red Racer.


1. Ernst, Lisa Campbell. Stella Louella's Runaway Book.

2. Howe, James. Horace And Morris But Mostly Dolores.

3. Roddie, Shen. Too Close Friends.

4. Tunnell, Michael O. Mailing May.

5. Wardlaw, Lee. Punia And The King Of Sharks: A Hawaiian Folktale.*


1. Shannon, David. A Bad Case Of Stripes.*

2. Lowell, Susan. Little Red Cowboy Hat.

3. Hoberman, Mary Ann. The Seven Silly Eaters.

4. Kurtz, Jane. Trouble.

5. Ryder, Joanne. Winter White.


Bernhard, Emery. The Girl Who Wanted To Hunt.*

Brown, Marc. Arthur Writes a Story.

Harper, Jo. Outrageous, Bodacious Boliver Boggs!

Silverman, Erica. Mrs. Peachtree's Bicycle.

Stanley, Diane. Saving Sweetness.


Brown, Laurene Krasny. Rex and Lilly: Family Time.

Bruchac, Joseph. First Strawberries: A Cherokee Story.

Lester, Helen. Three Cheers for Tacky.*

Viorst, Judith. Alexander Who's Not (Do You Hear Me? I Mean It!) Going To Move.

Yorinks, Arthur. Whitefish Will Rides Again.

Past Winners:

1996: McDermott, Gerald. Zomo the Rabbit: A Trickster Tale from West Africa.

1995: Stevens, Janet. Coyote Steals the Blanket.

1994: Brett, Jan. Trouble With Trolls.

1993: Calhoun, Mary. High Wire Henry.

1992: Peet, Bill. Cock-A-Doodle Dudley.

1991: Martin, C.L. The Dragon Nanny. (First award year)

Missoula Public Library, © 2002-